Lahore Session 1929: Poorna Swaraj Resolution

Indian National Congress decided that if the government did not accept the constitution based on the Nehru Report, Congress will demand for complete independence and will also launch Civil Disobedience Movement to attain its goals.

At Lahore Session of Congress in December 1929, Jawahar Lal Nehru was elected as the President.

During this session, a strong resolution was passed containing the following important points:

1. Round Table Conference to be boycotted.

2. Instead of Dominion status, Complete Independence (Purna Swaraj) was declared as the aim of Congress.

3. 26th January 1930 was fixed as 1st Independence Day.

4. All India Congress can start Civil Disobedience Movement whenever it considers necessary.

>> On 31 December 1929, newly adapted Tricolour flag of freedom was hoisted on the banks of Ravi river at Lahore.

>> On 26 January 1930, leaders such as Gandhi, Jawaharlal Nehru etc. publicly issued the Doctrine of Sovereignty and Self Rule (Purna Swaraj). Public meetings were held all across India and independence pledges were read out by the people. People took a pledge that “It is a crime against man & god to submit any longer to British rule” and 26th January was observed as 1st Independence Day.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: